fading friendships

Do you know Charles Hanson’s poem about Jim?

It’s one of the best poems I’ve ever heard. It’s just amazing and sad at the same moment and it’s about a friendship which faded because of life. Every time when I hear it I start to sobbing, because it’s something, which I could have written…

Around The Corner

(Charles Hanson)

Around the corner I have a friend,
In this great city that has no end,
Yet the days go by and weeks rush on,
And before I know it, a year is gone.

And I never see my old friends face,
For life is a swift and terrible race,
He knows I like him just as well,
As in the days when I rang his bell.

And he rang mine but we were younger then,
And now we are busy, tired men.
Tired of playing a foolish game,
Tired of trying to make a name.

„Tomorrow“ I say! „I will call on Jim
Just to show that I’m thinking of him“,
But tomorrow comes and tomorrow goes,
And distance between us grows and grows.

Around the corner, yet miles away,
„Here’s a telegram sir,“ „Jim died today.“
And that’s what we get and deserve in the end.
Around the corner, a vanished friend.

Who does not know this story? A wonderful friendship, maybe from the childhood away, fading every day a little bit more, because of thousand reasons?
The reasons.
There are so many reasons we take to excuse a faded friendship. And I’m sadly also one of these people, who never keeps in touch with her friends- even they do it.
And yeah, I like them- just as well, as in the days they rang my bell… but life comes in between and the forgetting. Then I don’t want to call them again, because I’m ashamed of doing it so late. But when I see them, I’m the happiest person of this planet and the first thing, I’m going to do, is telling them, that I’m going to call them the next days. But they know: it will not happen.
A faded friendship is sad- but sometimes, I feel, that it is good to go an other way. The worldsight is changing and we change us with it, our interests are completly different and not to mention our time tables…
But still… it would be so easy, to take this mobile phone- or also facebook at this time, and to overcome to call our friends.
Why is this so hard?
Kommentar verfassen

